This is the response I got when I asked if their pretzels were vegan:
Thank you for your interest in Auntie Anne's Hand-Rolled Soft Pretzel products. We welcome and appreciate the input from our customers so that we may continually improve our system and respond to their needs and suggestions.
In response to your question about vegan/vegetarians, the pretzel mix does not contain any ingredients from animal, dairy or egg sources; however, there are other factors to consider. Most of the dips, some of the toppings (i.e., parmesan herb, sour cream & onion), _Mocha Dutch Ice, Dutch Treat products, plus the pretzels that are dipped in butter would contain ingredients that would be from animal sources (primarily milk or dairy related). Overall, though, there are several of our pretzels that you can enjoy (Original, Whole Wheat, Cinnamon Sugar, Garlic, Jalapeno, Glazin' Raisin, etc.) that would not contain any ingredients from animal sources provided that they are requested without butter.
A secondary alternative with consumers in a situation as yours would be to use one of our At Home Pretzel Kits (available in most stores). This product allows you, the consumer, to prepare the product under your own control, in the privacy of your house, and still have the enjoyment of the product. The ingredients for this product are listed on the side of the package and does not contain any ingredients from animal sources.
Once again, thank you for you interest in Auntie Anne's products, and if you have any other questions or comments, please contact us. Have a great day!!